Which 300?

cgailey

I have read a lot of great info on here regarding 300 win vs 300wby. If a person hand loads, what are the actual real world speed differences between the two? Also, I see a lot on the web about potential accuracy issues with the wby, is that a concern? I have several 300 weatherbys( all factory Rem or Wby rifles) and have not experienced poor accuracy personally, but I'm a novice. Thanks in advance!

I have read a lot of great info on here regarding 300 win vs 300wby. If a person hand loads, what are the actual real world speed differences between the two? Also, I see a lot on the web about potential accuracy issues with the wby, is that a concern? I have several 300 weatherbys( all factory Rem or Wby rifles) and have not experienced poor accuracy personally, but I'm a novice. Thanks in advance!
If you already have the rifles and components and happy with it, then stick with the WBY.

To be a fair test, you'd need equal barrel length and pressure. With equal barrel length and pressures, I believe the difference would be 50fps or so. I've had great accuracy with MARK Vs when using factory ammo it liked. Having said that, I've never been able to match the accuracy and velocity at the same time with my handloads. The thing that drives me nuts reloading for my 300/340 is the inability to chase the lands, something that is possible with rifles chambered in the win mag if the magazine length is sufficient.
FWIW, even though I already have a 300wby, I'm setting up a Seekins Havak PH2 in the win mag with an eye to shooting 200 and 210g noslers. The 26" barrel and nearly 4" mag length should be a real equalizer. Just my 0.02.

Last edited:
I have loaded and shot for both. I have found loads that shoot well in both. I wouldn't say 1 is better than the other. The 300wby will net some more speed, but at the expense of a little faster barrel life. The 300 win mag wins in terms of finding good brass availability.