Where does your scent control start?

DSheetz

Where do you start your scent control? Do you start it at home before you even put on your hunting clothes?

After I watched a police K9 demonstration where they put crates in a field and then timed how long it took the K9 to find:

Sweaty guy no scent control, actually strong human scent
Normal guy no scent control
Guy washed and clothes treated with scent control shampoo and detergent, cover spray.

Took the dog about 3 second longer to find the dude with all scent control.

I just air out my clothes the night before, and hunt he wind correctly.
I will spray my face with scent cover to kill food particles in my beard that might be present.

Last edited:
Decades ago, I was a dedicated student of various Native American styles of hunting, survival training, trapping, scouting, etc, etc, so much, I even tried hunting with spears (lances). I followed various teachings on washing clothes with unscented types of soaps, natural and otherwise, rinsing those washed clothes with backing soda added, outside air dried, and then taking those clothes and placing them in unscented garbage bags with pine needle, cedar branches and woodland dirt/leaves rolled in cloth and included.

The morning of the hunt, I would rise early, shower with natural soap, use liberal amounts of baking soda as a body deodorant, put on clean clothes and if not near my home, drive to the hunting area and then put on my hunting clothes from the sealed garbage bags and boots similarly treated.