Wanting to build a custom rifle

Matchbook454

Hi guys. I'm thinking about building my first custom rifle and would appreciate input from those with experience. I have done a good amount of research and put together a parts list. Although I haven't decided on a caliber, I do have a few in mind. Leaning towards a 28 Nosler, .300 PRC, or possibly a 6.5-284 Norma. I'm pretty set on an AG Adjustable Hunter, Bighorn Origin, and either a Proof Carbon Wrapped Barrel or a Bartlein or Kreiger if I go that route. I am leaning towards getting them with a shouldered prefit from Bugholes as opposed to having a gunsmith thread them as I do not have a competent gunsmith near me and would also like to save a few bucks. From what I've read, Prefits are just as accurate as GS threaded so I don't feel I'm sacrificing anything there. But I'm not 100% set on doing a prefit either as I then have to buy a vise (or make one as I'm a machinist), as well as buy an action wrench. So, as for the rest of the parts - I already have a TriggerTech Primary that I can use, will most likely get Hawkins bottom metal and I think that's it? What will I need to do to install the bottom metal? Should the action just fit into the stock requiring only bedding? I guess my biggest concern is putting all of this together and achieving good fit. Again - I appreciate any help and explanations on how to do this!

I think your headed in the right direction. What is your goal for this rifle hunting? Also check Northland Shooters Supply. He has prefits also and sells the head space gauges, action wrench.

I think your headed in the right direction. What is your goal for this rifle hunting? Also check Northland Shooters Supply. He has prefits also and sells the head space gauges, action wrench.
Yes, long range capable hunting rifle.