Wall Tent discussion - researching, want input from experienced users

FlyFishn1

Hi All,

I've been researching Wall Tents for a while now. I've been interested in them going back quite a long time, but never seriously considered them until now. We've been camping our whole lives but never used canvas, or similar material, wall tents - all nylon tent fabrics of various kinds.

Looking around online this forum seems to have a lot of discussion on wall tents, though no specific forum for them. If it should be in another forum here I'm sure the mods will relocate.

From my perspective looking at the Wall Tents - they are much different.

Our use would be various family camping outings, mostly. I am a ham radio operator also and we do a couple annual (summer/winter) events called Field Day that I am trying to plan for also. Modularity in tent options is a good thing (living quarters + a couple "cook shacks", for example - a topic I want to hit on later). Transportation would be by pickup truck/trailer, and I don't think we would be carrying the gear very far, but that isn't to say (modularity here) we couldn't pack in a module for a smaller/more remote camp.

I have a lot of ideas and points I'd like to cover over time, so for now I'll keep the post a bit short with a couple questions.

1. I am really wanting a stronger and more weatherproof solution than our cabin tents + tarps. I am leaning towards an internal frame design. I was at a hardware store yesterday and checked out the 1" EMT conduit. That appears to be a common frame material. I'd say that would make for a more robust and stronger frame than anything we've ever had, though heavy. So from a structure standpoint I think that would be pretty robust and not much of a concern. More of a concern would be the weatherproofness of the material - walls, roof. I understand a lot of materials are treated to help with shedding water and to protect from UV's etc. I would think a fly would be a requirement also.