Thoughts on second LR rifle.

AJ Peacock

All, I've been lurking for a while. Finally registered today and wanted to get your opinion. I did some searching and although I found some info, I've not found everything I was looking for.

I've done a pretty good amount of LR hunting (grew up in Western Colorado). I've been shooting a Rem 700 BDL 7mm rem mag since 1978. This rifle is my current LR rifle. Only the action is original. It has a H-S Precision Kevlar stock, Its been rebarreled (with Remington barrel), Timney trigger, VariX-III 4.5x14 etc. My best 5 shot 200yd group is 5/8". (I don't currently have access to a longer range).

I've taken a handful of Muley's over 500 yds with it (many from 350-450). So I am very comfortable with this rifle for deer, and for hiking.

I've been thinking about getting a 'pure' long range rifle that won't be packed uphill very much. I know some spots in Colorado that are easy to get to but the shots are 600-800 yards (elk hunting). I've shot some elk with the 7mm, but don't like the idea of using it for 'really' long shots for elk.

I'm thinking about a heavy 338RUM, 30" fairly heavy contour barrel (lilja, shilen ...), heavy laminate stock, bipod, NO-BRAKE etc. Goal of this rifle is a 700-800yd Elk rifle.

Here are my questions :

1) Is the 338RUM something that would fit the bill? Other 'better' options? 338-300RUM ??? Is the 338RUM overkill?

2) I don't know anything about the 'right' components for a rifle like this. (I'd like a magazine feed, so if I ever use it for bears). Any recommendations on Action, barrel, total weight etc. would be great.

3) I have absolutely no problem with full house 7mm rem mag recoil in my current medium weight rifle. How heavy would I have to make this 'howitzer' to not go crazy with recoil? (Bullet = 300gr SMK, or equiv).

4) Is 30" barrel overkill? Underkill? etc.

5) What have I missed?

I have a friend that is a Gunsmith, so once I decide what I 'need' err uh 'want', all it will take is $$