Suspected scope problems

Kelpy

I have a savage 112 bvss in 7mm rem mag with a leupold 6.5-20X40mm EFR Target scope. It is mounted with leupold base and burris sig rings.

I have not had any problems with my setup for a while now and have been very pleased with my shooting at 1000 yards. However now 4 weeks away from deer season I decide to go out and make one last check on all my equipment.

I started shooting at 100 yards, everything was good. Moved to 1000 yards and everything was good, then when I went to 1100 my point of impact was a little off from the drop chart but not too bad. I was about 18 inches low. I then got it on target and shot a couple rounds. Everything was fine. I let the gun cool off for about 3-5 min and then started shooting again. I didn't change anything with the gun, didn't even touch it. The first shot was 2 1/2 feet low and 1 ft to the right. The second shot was in kind of the same area. After that the gun would not shoot the same spot twice. I tried to adjust back on target but the elevation wouldn't change and the windage was off in different directions.

I am now left wondering what in the heck happened. I was at the top end of my scopes adjustment range but when I dialed back down to zero the shots were still close. I had this problem once before a couple years ago when the gun was hitting well at 860 yards and then all of the sudden the POI changed by about two feet. But once back on target there was no more issues and the zero remained the same.

Sorry for the long winded question but any help would be appreciated!

THanks, Kelpy

If your base and rings are still working properly and nothing is loose, I'd be sending that scope to Leupold as fast as humanly possible after giving them a call and clearing with them.
Good Luck!

I don't think its really good to max out your scopes adjustment and then shoot. I have a freind that ruined two scopes that way.