savage 338 lapua

waylow

Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
13
Location
Red Bluff CA
I have read that on some brands of ammo the fired cases get stuck in the savage. If I spend the extra bucks for a Remington can I shoot none lapua brass and have no issues with stuck cases?
 

Eaglet

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
2,779
Location
Nevada
I have read that on some brands of ammo the fired cases get stuck in the savage. If I spend the extra bucks for a Remington can I shoot none lapua brass and have no issues with stuck cases?

If the factory ammo is loaded hot there is no guarantee that it won't get stock in a Remington. More likely is not the rifle but the ammo.

One of the benefits of having a 338 Lapua is the quality of the brass, if you can't afford it then I would advice to get a 338 Rem Ultra Mag and it would be cheaper to shoot and reload for... A 338 Edge would also be another choice but requires a bit more work.
 

Lefty7mmstw

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 13, 2012
Messages
4,803
Location
Dakota del norte
and you'll shoot larger groups with the Remington... ;)
depends on the remmy-- I've een 4 moa remmy's and 1/2 moa remmy's
Newer rem's seem to be flakier.

We did get a savage once that ranked right down there with remmy's worst though. Most of my experience with savage has been striker, and those are good.
 

Rimfire

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
483
Location
Maryland
I dont know anything about Savage, but I saw one of the tactical 338's at the range yeserday and the guy was sticking cases. I had never heard of this being a problem with Savage but it was giving him a fit. Both factory and handloads that were very light loads. It went back once and Savage said they polished the chamber. It continued to do it. It's intermittent sometime a few in a row sometimes you can put ten or twelve through it before it happens. Not a pressure problem light load soft bolt lift and stuck.
 

WEATHERBY460

Well-Known Member
Joined
Oct 9, 2009
Messages
607
Location
ILLINOIS
the sticky bolt is because of too hot of loads for that gun...these savages only work at reduced loads...simple as that

and yes...even using factory loaded ammo

it really sucks
 

toddc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
1,309
Location
sw ks
the sticky bolt is because of too hot of loads for that gun...these savages only work at reduced loads...simple as that

and yes...even using factory loaded ammo

it really sucks

Why are they doing it? Headspace? Anyone scoped a chamber?
 

Rimfire

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2007
Messages
483
Location
Maryland
A 300 grain 2650-2700 FPS load? that sucks. I had a chance to look at his brass, no scratches from chamber during extraction.
 

Eaglet

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
2,779
Location
Nevada
That's funny, I've had many, many savages in my 58 years and this is the first.

My 338 EDGE has been as high as 2890 with 300 grain and nothing like that!
 

toddc

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 18, 2005
Messages
1,309
Location
sw ks
That's funny, I've had many, many savages in my 58 years and this is the first.

My 338 EDGE has been as high as 2890 with 300 grain and nothing like that!
Had mine at 3150...ONCE...TASTED LIKE COPPER. Mine will run 3k but primer pockets are 1-3 loads and gone. Im hoping this new brass from bertram might give us a 3k edge reliably. My 4th edge barrel is the same as all my others at 2850 with 30" length and 94.7 of tumbo so these lapuas have some sort of issue. Id like to measure a chamber etc. Hell you might even give it a hair MORE headspace or something if its both sticking cases AND has horrible velocity. Savage may be keeping headspace short for reasons unknown to us. I sure wouldnt be happy with a 2600 lapua when theres 250 sittin there with an ultramag junk case.
 

Primary

LRH Assistant
Here are some related products that LRH members are talking about. Clicking on a product will take you to LRH’s partner, Primary, where you can find links to LRH discussions about these products.

 
 
Top