Rubber Wrapping a barrel?

huntxtrm

Might be a Dumb A## idea. But i'm thinking about wrapping the barrel of my hunting rifle with rubber, and see if it tightens up my groups. I was thinking of using rubber tape, a couple of wraps thick. Then going over it with RemWrap. I noticed limbsaver sells a barrel ring, that takes claims to tighten the group. So I figure, why not the whole barrel? The rifle is a 300rum Browning A bolt. No Boss on it, just an aftermarket muzzle brake. I was just going to use Rubber/self vulcanizing electrical tape. I'm an electrician, and we use it to make weather tight seals and such. Cheap, if it works. Any ideas on why it would work, or why it would not? lightbulb

can try and remove if not good - and prob will not be . You cannot make a crappy barrel shoot well. all barrels flex on shot - heavy ones very little light ones a ton. Key is to get them to flex the same way each time. Putting a condom on a barrel not likely to make any diff. I would not count on that limb saver doughnut as move it a hair and harmonics on barrel different. Good luck in any hunting as guaranteed to bump it and another thing to hang in rifle sheath. The idea is to get barrel flex the same each time, not eliminate it. A big, honkin weight on a pencil barrel will change harmonics, but more likely to shoot out barrel finding the sweet spot - if there is one.

I played the limb saver game with bows years ago and the reality is not much except the ones on the bow limbs made any difference in hell and that only for noise reduction. The ones on the string did work as well - for noise. The rest of the crap added to sight, quiver, barrel... was all gimmicks. Just my opinion - I could be wrong.