reloading for accuracy questions

Steve Sheasly

I am new at precision reloading and have been reading a bit before I start to purchase a lot of tools. I was an engineer in the paper industry and understand the importance of concentricity's of bearing fits and can apply this to a bullet spinning down a rifled tube we call a barrel. In order to be consistently accurate all of the concentricity's would have to be perfect from the centerline of the cartridge when chambered to the bottom of the barrel grooves. Pretty hard to measure.

I have read a lot of articles and have a question:
The distance to the ogive of the bullet and bottom of the case (end of the neck) is one measurement.
The distance from the datum line of the case to the bolt face is headspace.
The COAL is the distance from the base of the bullet to the tip of the projectile.

Seems to me that the case should fit exactly into the camber with the neck of the case touching its seat (not sure what this is called yet) and the datum line snug in the chamber. Basically zero clearance for the cartridge to move at all. The ogive of the projectile should be snug and touching the leading edge of the lands of the barrel grooves.

Once this is done I understand that the case should be bumped back .002 or .003 so the fluctuations in ambient temperature will allow the chambering of the cartridge and the projectile should be seated about .005 to .015 (which ever is more accurate for my rifle with load development).

Is this correct?

Also how do I know the neck will extrude to its limit with a fired round -- I assume the pressure formed case will be an accurate image of my chamber but will the neck hit its limit. Maybe the answer is apparent -- would the cartridge separate if the neck does not seat?

Steve Sheasly

What cartridge are you loading for?
Seating off the lands doesn't work for cartridges with freebore.
Sometimes a jump of .05 will out shoot a shorter jump, no two rifles, bullet/powder combinations r the same.