Reloading 30-378???

KidWalleye

just getting started reloading!

picked up a complete reloading setup from a friends dad. its an aged setup but everything seems to be there and has had VERY little use.

I will be loading it with 210gr Berger VLDs, shooting them out of a Weatherby Mark V 30-378. stock rifle.

now for the questions.

what dies do you all recommend for the 30-378?
primers?
Powders?
loads?
lengths?

I have ordered the berger reloading manuals, just have not received it yet. just trying to get some ideas from you all with experience to get me started.

i am new to reloading in general so if i am missing something please let me know.

thank you all for your time.

Gary

Gary I have a standard load back from when I shot a couple 30-378's. One was an Accumark.

You might want to try this one. It is not a hot load but from a 26" tube will produce 3050 fps and that soft, very expensive Wby brass will last a good while.

210 Berger H VLD
FED GM 215 M primer
98.5 gr of H-1000 (always work up to a charge I would start with 96 gr)
Seat them at 3.800 to the tip. This should feel from the box and allow a little room from the Wby mag box. If not seat them just a tad deeper.

This load has worked well in many 30-378 Wby's and filled my freezer over and over with deer and elk. In fact my friend that has the rifle is still shooting the same load and has named the rifle "Bang Flop"

Good luck

Jeff

PS: that's the rifle below with a bull taken with this very load.

I like the H 50 BMG powder in my 30/378s (112 to 115 grains) with the Fed 215s. the big cases
have lots of room and I prefer 98 to 100% case density.

I also had good luck with Retumbo at 98 to 103 grains.

These loads ,like all loads should be approached from starting charges.

My best group from the big 30 was .092 5 shots @ 100 yards, using 117 grains of H 50 BMG
and 200 grain barns triple shocks. (WARNING This is near max load).

Just a couple of other powders to try.

J E CUSTOM