Realistic AR distance for 'yotes

TBuckus

I'm just getting into hunting yotes. So far I've been carrying a shotgun and my hunting partner would have a rifle.

So, I'm in the process of building an AR specifically for predators. I'm thinking of using a 20" barrel over a 24" to keep the weight down.
Without getting into discussions over barrel/ component quality, etc. what distance is realistic for hunting coyotes with an AR? 1MOA? 2MOA?

My gas gun holds a little better than MOA @ 300 yards.

Have hold overs w/mil dot scope tested to 350 yards. I'm figger'n 350 is about 50 yards too far for me but I'd probably take the shot anyway.

With a good rest, and the right bullet choice, 450 yards is doable but it really depends on the wind and how much target you have.... (Head sticking over some brush... Or a nice broadside). I've found some nice cheap accurate ammo for my dpms sweet 16 and it consistently shoots .3x MOA. With this ammo, I'm confident on full bodied shoots out to 450. With remington umc... About 375, both provided the wind is consistent and not gusting...and I have a stable rest.

Off of sticks, or my brothers back... 275-300 is the most I'll go.

Bullet opens nicely and doesn't pass through at distance... So shot placement is key. Tracking is difficult if you don't place your shot well and put them down with the first round.

I have a 20" barrel on my RRA Predator Pursuit upper. It shoots 1/2 moa on paper out to 200 yards (I haven't tested any farther than that). I blast P-dogs out to 350+ from a nice solid shooting table. This weight barrel is about the limit of what I would want in a carry rig.

You probably don't want a "varmint" barrel, as they are very heavy to carry around.

Those are the distances I was hoping for.
I'm looking at the Olympic Arms ultramatch bull barrel. It's a bit heavy though.