New reloaded

Smackedazz

Any help you guys can give me would be much appreciated. I'm new to reloading and I'm looking to put together a load for my 30.06 to use on cow elk.

I put together a load of 4064 @ 54g with nosler accubond @ .015 off lands and shot .35 @ 100 and 1.25 @ 300. From a stock rem 700 bdl. I had trigger worked on but nothing else. 52.5 g also shot well.

180gr class of bullets would work fine. Berger, Nosler, Matrix, and many others. If you explain more on exactly what it is you want out this load we can help you more. To kill cow elk doesn't tell us much.

Ok sorry for not giving more info, most of this still confuses me. I am looking to shoot cow elk with a 30.06 at ranges not to exceed 500 yards. I need to pick a few types of bullets so my buddy/reloading mentor can help me put together a few loads. He is not a hunter and ask me to seek input on what bullets have worked well for you guys. In the past I have shot 165g remington core-lokt. It worked fine. Should I just look at 165 or should I maybe try some of the bigger stuff I see. Thanks again for all the help.

I have really good results with nosler AB in 180. BC is over .500 and the bullets hit hard. Several elk, deer, coyotes, and wolves have been taken with this bullet. All good solid results. I used 165 ballistic tips but had core separation. Still dead animals but I want the bullet to stay together.

For each is their own but I would not recomend or myself shoot at elk sized critters with a 30-06. I did not recomend AB's since I cannot get them to shoot as well as Partitions, but they do have great BC. and if they are accurate would get you a little more distance. Good luck!

I think your 30-06 with most 165 to 180 gr. bullets will work just fine. I have used 150 and 165 Barnes TSX bullets on cow elk and 180 gr. partitions with dead cow elk as the result. I is really about hitting them in the right spot.