Lose primer pockets

kyron

I am fairly new to reloading. Have see several people here mention lose primer pockets. Just had my first one. Couple of firings on the case and the new primer went in a little too easy.

Is this case safe to load and fire?

I am fairly new to reloading. Have see several people here mention lose primer pockets. Just had my first one. Couple of firings on the case and the new primer went in a little too easy.

Yes. When I could not get brass I have trapped some primers in with fingernail polish. If you want the pockets to last longer you back off on the loads. Some brass is harder than others so they can be loaded to higher velocity.

With the pressures you are reaching, (Brass should last at least 4 or 5 firings before the primer pockets get loose. on standard loads (50 to 55,000 psi) they can last 10 to 15 times without any problems.

I know people glue primers in, But this is risky because glue alone cannot handle these kinds of pressure and when they leak, they cut the bolt face.

In my opinion I doubt it is unsafe but it can and does damage the bolt face and the bolt is much more expensive to replace than brass. So I toss it when the primer pockets get loose.

There are tools that can tighten primer pockets, but they can be expensive also.

With good brass and proper SAMME pressures for the round this is normally not a problem.

J E CUSTOM

Try switching to a different brand of primer with a larger diameter. This will give you a few reloads more.

I have measured the following LR Primers:

Remington 0.2102"
Magtec 0.2114"
CCI BR 0.2108"
HIRT 1215 0.2107"
FED 215 0.2175"
FED 210 0.2105"
WIN LR 0.2115" very old batch

But here is some more:

www.thehighroad.org/showpost.php?p=3936874&postcount=28

+1!

Rifleprimerdimensionchart_zps1e2490f5.jpg

ScannedImage-2_zps41be85b3.jpg

Primercrossreferencechart_zps714f4872.jpg