I want, but do I really need a 300 WSM?

I Personally shy away from the WSM's because they are prone to feeding issues but I've had none with any of the above. If you're ever in my neck of the woods I'd let you shoot both the 6.5LRM and .260 just so you could get the feel of each.
The feeding issues were only when they were first released. I've been shooting a 300wsm for over 10 years. 4 different 300wsm and have never had a single feeding issue. And definitely do my fair share of shooting every year.

The feeding issues were only when they were first released. I've been shooting a 300wsm for over 10 years. 4 different 300wsm and have never had a single feeding issue. And definitely do my fair share of shooting every year.
X 2 but with 270WSM...a little dream gun! Well maybe this isn't completely true...the only feeding issues I've ever encountered are just about (90% of the time) when I feed a live round into the chamber......it comes back out Empty!

I Personally shy away from the WSM's because they are prone to feeding issues but I've had none with any of the above. If you're ever in my neck of the woods I'd let you shoot both the 6.5LRM and .260 just so you could get the feel of each.

Honestly the .264wm in an 8 twist would also be well worth considering along with the 6.5-06.
I guess I've been living under a rock for the last 2 decades because I've never heard of a Winchester CRF WSM or Browning WSM having feed issues. The only problems I've seen reported are with Remington 700 actions and clones. I've got a M70 300 WSM that was manufactured in the first year. It never fails to feed.

I absolutely agree with you on the .264 Win Mag and I disregard all the "barrel burner" old wives' tales. It doesn't burn a barrel any faster than 7RM or 300 WM.