How often do you bump the shoulder back?

CleanShot

Hello

I'm a newbie reloader so I've been trying to read and consume as much information as possible. I'm a bit confused on this topic however.

I noticed most people say neck sizing helps extend your cartridge life over full resizing. Ok so neck size it is. But then I noticed some people neck size without pushing the shoulder back each time. They only bump the shoulder every 3rd time or so. I've heard this called "bump sizing".

Any opinions on this?

Thanks
Sam

I fl size every time. I want the brass to enter the chamber at the same dimensions for every firing. I'll sacrifice a shot or two of brass life for this.

Fl sized brass will often index in the chamber more squarely too (and hence be more accurate), since it won't bind on any out of round dimension that your rifle likely has. It will index on the case head and the headspace point, whether it is a belt of shoulder and that is it, every time... Not so with and out of round chamber and neck sized ammo... It will index at the above points and/or anywhere the case touches an out of center/ round point in the chamber. If the brass isn't turned to the exact rotation it was on the previous shot, it will not be square to the world.

My last 7stw barrel was a case in point for this, as it shot into .5 to .6 moa with fl sized ammo... I tried to neck size or partial fl size the bras to save brass life ( the chamber was cut extremely long) and the accuracy fell to 1.5 moa. A more extreme difference than usual to be sure, but it can and often does happen.

A properly set full length die or body die will only bump the shoulder if it has grown out of spec and needs it. I full size each time and keep shoulders back to spec at about .002" from headspace. This will insure all your ammo is the same all the time. A case that closes firm or hard will not usually shoot at the same speed as one that is head spaced and sized correctly.

Jeff