Help with a budget 500 yard rig please

Thanks Boyd. Question for you.... Based on all I have read everything seems to show a preferance towards .308 why is that? Ballistics seem to put the 30-06 10%-20% faster, harder, flatter. I am curious can you please fill me in. Again thanks in advance for your help.

Ranger,
I don't believe your gonna "FEEL" the difference between a 30-06 and the 7Mag. Did you ever consider a muzzle brake? I have a 300WBY that kicks like a .243 with the brake on. The '06 with a brake would be rather pleasant to shoot as long as you had some form of hearing protection............

I have a Rem 760 BDL game master in 30-06 and for some reason I can shoot it all day compared to the 7mm beating I recently stopped taking. I have considered the muzzle break but I am in a cost crisis and between rifle and scope I have to stay low$$. I think I would rather spend the break money on a better scope. any ideas? Thanks again

if you want to poke an elk at 500yds you cant go wrong with a remington sendero in 300 win mag. zero it at 300 and you can hold on their back at 500 and hit them in the heart--pretty simple

Boyd--no way i would loop a 308 towards an elk at 500yds. ive shot mine at 1k for $hits and giggles but i dont think it has enough poop left at 500 for elk. whittails no prob though.
JB

I'll say Luppy 6x-18x target if ya want to get out to 1k and stay under $400.oo . Boyd has one on his STW and it seems to be the ticket for a good scope vs. price combo. 6x may be a little to much magn. if your gonna be huntin up close and personal though.

JB,
.308 click to 500 from a 100yrd zero , put it on their cranium and lights out. Nothin but net!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
shocked.gif

Not enough power from the 308 Win at 500 yards??????

1200 to 1500 Foot pounds of energy left with a 308 Win using the 168 Gr or 175 Gr MK bullets.

Plenty of killing power for an elk at only 500 yards.

About 37 1/4 Min clicks of elevation and good bye Mr. Elk at 500 yards.