Help on scope maxing out elev at 100yds

Jpterry

Need some help on a new setup please. Bought a new Sako Classic in 6.5swede for my long range deer hunting with a Swarovski Z5 using optilocks low mounts. I've scoped a lot of rifles over the years and this is first one I maxed out eleveation at 100yds at only 1.5" high of center. The Optilock lows have the bottom of scope about 1/2" above barrel which is about as high as I would like it to be. My plan was to set zero at 200yds which is 2" high at 100yds.

Good news is the Sako is tack driver with 140 VLDs...5 shots in 1/2" at 100. Any idea why this scope is maxing out so quick at 100yds? Is it bad for longer range accuracy to have scoped elevation maxed out at 100yds?

From what I understand, going to a higher base would only give me the extra height of base at 100yds...ex: raising rings up another 1/4" would only give me another 1/4" elevation at 100yds.

Something sounds off. What scope?

I have no experience with Sakos or these mounts. But in general, I'd disassemble and inspect everything to see if something is assembled incorrectly and using up your elevation. If you can't find a fault, you could go with a 20 MOA base and/or Burris Signature rings using the offset inserts to give you more travel.

What are you using for a base for those pitilock low mounts?

Yep, that's the key. If OP is using factory base, he's stuck with the optilocks, which by the way are awesome rings. I have them on my SAKO M995 in .300 ... one of these days, I'll have an after market picatinny rail drilled and tapped on it.