Help me out.

JPhelps

I am new to this whole long range thing, but am getting addicted just reading and listening to your posts. I currently shoot a remington 700 7mm RM (bone stock, besides the trigger being lightened to 2.2 lbs).I have taken some deer and 1 elk at around 500 yards, and am wanting to get a gun that shoots farther and a custom.
I will be buying a 700 action to build a custom off of. After talking to a local gunsmith he talked me into going with a Shilen match grade barrel. Now for the caliber? I was originally going to go with a .300 RUM. Now after seing the .338 edge and 7mm AM, I want to make sure I go all out. I do have some reloading experience just with my 7mag though. What will be best for taking blacktail deer, mule deer and elk? Also what will be easiest to reload for? Should I go with a wildcat or just stick to a 7stw, 7rum, .300 rum, or .338 rum. Excuse me if these are dumb questions.

Not dumb questions at all.

The factory offerings you list are all plenty potent for any long range hunting and obviously easy to load for.

The two wildcats you list are extremely impressive performers. Shawn Carlocks 338 Edge is about as easy to load for as they come and offers as much performance as possible in a round that is easily fitted into a repeating Rem 700 receiver.

My 7mm Allen Magnum is a bit different beast. Not hard to load for, just more time involved at the loading bench. My round is designed for one thing, beating the wind!! It has a large powder capacity, relatively small bore diameter and designed to shoot very long heavy 7mm bullets such as the 200 gr ULD RBBT. As such, it is not as user friendly as far as loading for it.

That said, once you get your load, ballistially there is very little that will run with it except the huge 338 magnums based on the 408 CT case such as my 338 Allen Magnum.