Help newbe select a reloading press.

encoreguy

I am new to reloading and I am collecting my components. I am not a high volume shooter and never will be so speed is not an issue. Precision is the number one concern for me. I want to start out at a modest priced model to see if I like reloading before shelling out big bucks on a better press (like a Forster Co-Ax). Right now I am leaning toward a Lee Classic Cast or RCBS Rockchucker. The Lee runs $60 and the Rockchucker runs $108. I thought that I could save the approx. $50 and use it to buy better dies or other accuracy tools? What are your thoughts.

For that budget I'd use the Rockchucker but its worth the extra money to get a Co-Ax now , they are awsome very accurate ammo very quick die change their worth every penny. buy one now for $180 and you'll have saved yourself $100 next year when you want to replace the RCBS.

But realy the RCBS and Redding single stage presses are great , I still use a little RCBS Partner press a good bit for

i have the rockchucker and like it. start with at least the rockchucker and save yourself some $$ in the long run

encoreguy

I have an extra Forster Coax press that I will sell for $120 plus $10 shipping.

I like the Classic Cast. I like it better than the RCBS actually. The other Lee presses aren't the greatest by any means but, they've put out a pretty nice single stage w/ the new CC.

Get the Lee and have extra $ to get some other components as well.

Reloader

I have a RCBS RS 2. I purchased it back in the 60s. It's been a heck of a good press. A few years ago I purchased a Partner press so I could set up my seating die and not have to switch dies when I went from sizing to seating. Know what I know now, I'd buy the Partner press and not the larger press. It does the job just as easy. And yes, I have sized with it. A big press is kind of like having a 600 horse motor in a car driven in a town like NYC. Nice to have, but not really necessary.