Electronic Predator Call for beginners

RW2013

Hello, I'm new to predator hunting and would like to get my feet wet to see if I enjoy it before spending too much money.

Can you guys provide me with some recommendations for a predator caller in the 100 dollar range?

I'll be hunting in northern California. Any tip or gear recommendations would be appreciated.

Thank you,
RW

Might take a look at building one yourself...
I thought about a DIY approach and actually have a horn speaker and Bluetooth receiver. I could just throw everything in an ammo can but the range is limited on a Bluetooth connection.

I see that some of these calls can be operated from 100 to 200 yards. How important is your distance away from the speaker?