Custom Long Range Rifle

buzz4me2

Howdy everyone,
I'm new to the site and have found a wealth of information here. I'm sure my following questions have been asked before but I'll ask them again. Searching through old posts I have found a lot of info that I'm looking for but I'm still seeking advice.

I'm new to long range shooting. Currently I have a pre64 win .270, 140grain Accubond ammo that I use for deer and as a backup gun. My main rifle is a .300 win mag, 180grain XP3 ammo and Leupold VX-III Boon and Crocket reticle (3x9x40). I have taken deer out to 400 hards with the 270 and elk out to 540 yds with the .300. I love the lower recoil on the .270 but don't have as much confidence at the longer distances. The .300 kicks but is manageable and under the right conditions I'm comfortable out to 500 yards.

I'm now considering getting my first custom rifle. The animals that I will hunt in the future are mainly elk and deer but I plan on hunting sheep, caribou and moose occasionally in the future and want to get good shooting a single rifle.

I'd like to get a custom rifle that can take any of the above mentioned game out to 1000 yards using preferably one load. What caliber of rifle would you suggest for this type of hunting?

Looking at custom rifle makers the names that stand out are Shawn Carlock, Kirby Allen, Robert (Bob) Hart and Kevin Wyatt. I'm guessing any of these guys can build me a quality rifle but I do notice a difference in prices among some of them that have a website. Is this just the way the market is or does quality come into play?

Does anyone have an opinion for the following makers or guns:
1) Bob Hart and the Hart Long Range Hunter?
2) Defensive Edge's Light Weight Long Range Rifle?
3) Mark Thompson's Weatherby 30-378? (they don't go into great detail on the rifles they sell on their website)
4) Darrell Holland Long Range Hunter?