Coal or ogive

RemingtonShooter

I'm kinda new at this and this may be a stupid question. But when loading for consistent loads, due you rely on measuring coal or length of base to give? I have found a few loads I like. I start with coal but heard after that is settled then switch ogive for the specific bullet you are using?

Bullet tips can vary considerably, so that OAL measurements will always be inaccurate. Its OK to check them from a reloading manual, but use them only as a guide.

Measuring from the case bottom to ogive start is much better and more accurate. Get a Hornady OAL guage and read the instructions. You need to find the bullet depth where you can first see the rifling on bullet, then move back from there. Do this with a dummy round (no powder or primer). If your bullets touch the lands, you might try to extract a loaded round and find the bullet stuck in the bore, and powder thru the action. Not good when you are on a hunting trip.

The only real justifications for being concerned with COAL is;
1. that the cartridge must be short enough to fit into the magazine and feed properly
2. that the bullet is seated deep enough to be held securely in the case neck.

If these criteria are met there is often an accuracy advantage when having the bullet seated close to the rifling lands.