Carbon Fiber Prefit for Savage

Tiny Tim

Looking at putting a carbon fiber pre-fit on a Savage LA in 300 WM. Looked at Proof ( least options and most expensive), Carbon Six (McGowen blanks(?)), and Excalibur. The latter 2 give you the most options and are a little less expensive (depending on options selected). Would likely do a sendero profile. Any experience, preferences? Getting new stock and bottom metal. Will be a hunting rig.

I think Proof only offers a 24 " pre-fit. Any advantage to going longer than 26"?

I know it's alot of questions but I have no experience with carbon fiber wrapped barrels.

Thanks, Tim

Talk to ohiofarmer.

Attachments

• IMG_2639.jpeg
    IMG_2639.jpeg
    143.3 KB · Views: 57
Looking at putting a carbon fiber pre-fit on a Savage LA in 300 WM. Looked at Proof ( least options and most expensive), Carbon Six (McGowen blanks(?)), and Excalibur. The latter 2 give you the most options and are a little less expensive (depending on options selected). Would likely do a sendero profile. Any experience, preferences? Getting new stock and bottom metal. Will be a hunting rig.

I think Proof only offers a 24 " pre-fit. Any advantage to going longer than 26"?

I know it's alot of questions but I have no experience with carbon fiber wrapped barrels.

Thanks, Tim
Have you looked at Preferred Barrel Blank? They have Carbon fiber barrels now, they have a wide arrange of reamers to chamber, another company to compare. I have purchased two SS barrels from them this year, they are very easy to contact, if you leave a message you get a return call within an hour, top notch customer service. Once the actions come in, I can provide a better review on the barrels.

None in 300 WM so take it FWIW.

Have done (2) Carbon Six-one shoots very well. Jury is still out on the second, but it doesn't even have 100 rounds on it yet. Headspace on that one was tricky. It was a Savage. This is a 22" 338 Lapua (for a can), but I am really liking the short barrel.