Burris veracity or ???

pawhitetail

Well I think I've pretty much settled on the burris veracity 4-20x50 for a 300 mag hunting rig. It's right at my price range. From what I could find it has decent light transmission, good glass, a nice reticle in ftp and the magnification range is pretty ideal for me. So my question to you guys is if there is any other scope I should be looking at that very closely competes with this scope or do you feel I'm making a good choice with this scope for the money? I'm pretty settled on this I just want to cover all bases before I pull the trigger. Thanks guys

While I have no personal experience with it, the Weaver Super Slam 4-20x50 seems pretty well matched up with the Veracity. I would also always advise to compare with Vortex scopes and Bushnell's Elites.

I have the http://www.longrangehunting.com/for...riflescope-w-ballistic-e1-ffp-reticle-130833/ on http://www.longrangehunting.com/forums/f22/my-budget-270-ai-97745/ and I'm very pleased with it.

Burris Veracity 4-20x50 - An Amateur's Opinion

It will give the Vortex and comparable scope a run for your money ... and then some.

From an optics SME ...

Originally Posted by bruce_ventura
Burris has taken that to the extreme with the E1 optical designs. AFAIK, XTR II and Veracity models of the same magnification use the same optics as well. I spent more time looking at the Veracity models because I like the multi-purpose reticle designs. The Veracity scopes were typical of Burris optical quality: good resolution, high contrast, and no tunneling in the erector over 5:1 zoom ratio. I also recall seeing no obscuration at low magnification when the elevation was rotated to the limit.

Good luck!