300 weatherby rebarrel

stevens1r

Guys I am new to this so don't laugh. I have a winchester model 70 chambered in 300 weatherby. The best groups I've got out of the factory barrel is 3/4". I would like to get into this long range thing and would like for it to at least shoot under 1/2". I am considering rebarreling. A few questions: 1. Would you go back with 300 wby or another (I want to stay with 30 cal)? 2. What barrel should I go with (Brand) (one friend told me Hart any thoughts on this)? 3. What twist, contour, etc if I want to shoot 280 grain Nosler accubond or ballistic tips?(or if either sound stupid let me know) 4.Should I just start over with a new gun? (I have a bell and carlson thumbhole stock, Leupold vx3 4.5-14)

Sounds like since you already have stuff to load the 300 Wby, keep the sam caliber. It is a potent long-range hammer that will get you way on out there. As far as barrels go, Hart, Broughton, Krieger, Shilen, and others will not lead you astray. For twist, 1-11 will do fine with the 200 gr NABs up to 220 SMKs, depending on your flavor. Model 70s are great actions to go custom with. Look up Joel Russo, get you a A5-L stock and pillar bed any of the aforementioned barrels with your Model 70 and you will be ready to shoot away.

Oh, and use the 'Search' function and look up potential loads, advice, etc if you have the time and itch to do it.

The 300 W is a nice round. If you plan on shooting 180's probably a 1:10 or 1:9 twist. Hart barrels are nice. I have a few 28 & 29 inch barrels. Here are two Hart's that might fit you pretty good. I like the 28, 29, 30 inch. My hunting rifle has 1.250 - 1.00 tapper is a 8.5 pound barrel. With scope and bipod it's an 18 pound weapon. Some of the other barrel manufactures list barrels and weights. Even without a brake heavy barrel guns have minimal recoil and enough mass for repeated shooting without the heat problems.

My 30-378 has a 28 inch and brake

1000 BR Taper
1.250 X 6" X .940 @ 30"

Magnum 1,000