.30-06 Hunting

JP Hunter

Hi guys,
Well the long range bug has bitten my brother. Talking about this site and setting up my 300rum got him. He is out of work so a new gun is out. He has a .30-06 that soots .5" goops at 100. Not sure what the limits are. We reload 165g for our 06's. Any help wood be grate.gun)

the 30-60 is a great long range cartrige. getting out and spending the time and the rifle will show you what it can and can not do. it should push the 165 grn bullet over 3000 with the right powder. With the right combination it can and will shoot one hole groups at 100 and have no problem hitting what you are shooting at 1000

30/06

Harfman, I'm no expert, but I would agree with you until the end of your post. You probably should be shooting at paper at 1000 yds. and maybe thats what he's using it for. Your load has about 570 lbs of energy at 1000 yds. and if the gun is zero at 200 the 165 going 3000 will drop about 317 inches. One of the well respected gunsmiths on this site recently talked about the 06 as a good long range gun out to 500 or 600 yds.
Good Luck

The good old 30-06 with the right bullets has planty of energy to kill deer at 1000yds. With the right bullets I mean 175gr and up , I would shoot the 190-210gr pills to get all the good out of it assuming that the gun is up to it with those pills.

Not sure of the specs on that weapon as far as barrel lebngth twist rate and others but with a 24" barrel the 30-06 and a 1-10 twist the 30-06 can launch a 175gr Berger VLD at 2700fps easly ,that bullet at that speed will cleanly kill deer at 1000yds as will the 178gr A-max. chances are that the gun will have to be fed single shot for the long bullets to be seated out far close to the lands.

You have to get the lighter bullet cranking some serious speed for them to beat the heavier VLD's at long range ballisticaly.