.25-06 Crimping

Jimbob

Hi All! I'm still new to handloading and I'm wanting to improve my .25-06's performance. I opted for IMR 4350 powder and Sierra 120gr. Spitzer bullets, I'm going to be using this gun primarily for Whitetail deer here in Virginia until we eventually move to (probably) Idaho then it'll be Whitetails and Antelope. My question is this, when I seat the bullets in the casing, sometimes they're very loose. I set die set I have is supposed to decap and size the shell in the same step, so would crimping fix this or am I just missing a step somewhere? Thanks in advance!

Jimbob

Jimbob

The expander ball may be to big !

Take it out of the die and mic it

It should be .006 to .008 smaller than
the bullet Dia. an a minium of .004 smaller.

The die maker should have a replacement
expander.

Crimping is getting harder to do because bullets with
cannelures are normally not preimum bullets, but
crimping would not solve the problem .

J E CUSTOM

Last edited:
Had a similar problem

A few weeks ago I posted about having a similar problem. All my bullets were able to move up and down inside the neck. Not much tension. I'm shooting a .25-06 Ackley Improved with a tight neck and had to turn every case before it could be used. One of the guys mentioned something about the necks being work hardened and that the neck had too much spring back. That kind of rang a bell and I deprimed a few and annealed the cases and rersized them. The problem went away. So I did the rest and haven't had a problem since. Of course I have to anneal them every other firing now but no big deal. Just another step in the process.
I also found that my resizing die, even though it was necking the case down enough the expander ball would sometimes open it back up larger than it should. I chucked it up in my drill and polished the heck out of it. Not enough to remove much metel but just enough that the case neck when lubed would slide easily over the expander ball.