243 & 105gr A-max?

Jerry Myers

I have a 243 with a 1 in 10" twist and I want to shoot the 105gr A-max? Does anyone have any experience with this setup?

Thanks!
smile.gif

Not sure, but a 1 in 10 may not be fast enough to stabilize the 105. I shoot a 6 Rem AI with a 1 in 8 for the 105 to 107s. You could try and see what happens though. I would recommend you begin with I-4350.
db

I have had A LOT of experience with this pill and caliber! Actually, just got back from the range shooting a bunch of them. The rifle (my wifes) is a Weatherby Vanguard .243 and it LOVES the 105's (NOT the 1:8 twists though). I set it on top of 36gr Varget, seat out .001 from the lands, and it will get MOA accuracy at 100yds all day long. Took me a while to get my seating depth just right since the Weatherby has so much freebore, but once I hit the "magic COAL", groups tightened right up and they have proved to be VERY reliable and consistent. What type of rifle are you using? Sometimes, the 1:8's will work for a particular rifle, but in mine, they don't shoot very well. All in all, it's a fine bullet and very easy to load with. I would recommend it highly to you if you want to gain more in terminal ballistics. Good luck.

TH

I have a H&R Ultra Varmint that I will be using until I get a better long range setup. My intention is to target and varmint shoot out to about 600yds.