1500yd plus pdog results

lerch

<strong>SPONSOR</strong>
Well I will go ahead and lay it out, we didn't get any pdogs, but it was a hell of a learning experince.

We set out sturday morning and arrived at pdog town around 1:00 pm. We found a spot that presented us with 1500-1700yd shots so we decided it would work. Wind was straight at us about 10-15mph and it was pretty sunny with temps around 85 deg.
After setting up the Wild rangefinder and all of our other junk I got ready to send the first rounds down town. Well no surprise i didn't make a one shot kill /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
I started shooting on top of a large hill and my first 3 shot string land a few bullets within about 3-4 feet of dogs.

BJ fired his first set and his last shoot skimmed just over the head of a dog by less than a foot. I loaded up and tried again and this time I nailed the mound a dog was setting on missing him only by 6" or so. A massive cloud of dirt exploded around the dog showering him in dust, but not killing him.

We fired several more times with several near misses. We had repeated problems with the dogs being shaded by clouds and us being in full sunlight. This made seeing dogs impossible at times and we also had to deal with constantly changing wind conditions.
Our elevation was usually pretty good but left and right was harder. That wind sure is a bitch!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Another problem we had was for us to shoot this far we had to fire at dogs near the road. The dogs are used to getting shot at and run for the hills at the first sight of a impact cloud.
We moved to another group of dogs down the hill a way and BJ began firing. He landed a shot real close to a dog and scared him over to his mound. The mirage picked up and our visiblity lessened. BJ said the could see his dog setting on the top of mound and i agreed something was there.