1000 Yard Gun - .260 vs 6.5 Creedmoor

Hudge

I'm new to long distance shooting, so I wanted to lean on the expertise of this forum's membership in evaluating two cartridges. I'd like to build a good gun for hunting deer or shooting targets out to 1000 yards. At the higher end, really only targets, since I'm not confident I could kill an animal at range. I think I've narrowed it down to a Savage model 12 LRP, but it comes in .260 and 6.5 Creedmoor. Lapua just announced they would be selling brass in .260, so I believe quality reloading costs would be better on that round as opposed to the 6.5 Creedmoor. I think the ballistics are almost identical, so I'm wondering if there's a reason not to do the .260 and, instead, go with the 6.5 Creedmoor?

Like I said, I'm new to this, and I was hoping some of the experienced shooters out there could point me in the right direction.

Thanks in advance.

I have had a 260 custom for a while and love it ! i built it for the 140g amax and it is superb to 1000 and beyond, a stout load of vitavori N560 really works for me .

the creedmor has slightly less oommph but i doubt you'd notice ?

in the end i don't think either would dissapoint you?

Russ

ps , i guarantee you will love the 6.5mm bullet!

Either one will "ring steel" way on out there, I've built rifles in both caibers just for that purpose. IMHO, neither one has the 'foot pounds' needed for deer size or larger game 'way on out there'.

brass is harder to get for a creedmoor, a few 1k matchs have been dominated by a 260 ai but id use a 35 degree shoulder instead of 40, unless your set on a factory rifle, savage barrels swaps are pretty easy.

The 6.5x47L/6.5CMs were never intended to be used for 1kyd competition. They are under powered for it, as even the 260 with a full 5gr more capacity is still underpowered for 1kyd.