1 gun for all???

oneluckypops

I will start this thread by pointing out that I am a newbie to this forum, I have made an introduction post in the new members section. But to help with any answares that I can get from you fine people i will try to explain my circumstances.

I do not own any rifles at this time, My father is a gunsmith and has several custom built rifles that I have always been able to use. Well I think it is past time for me to obtain my own rifle. He has built rifles for all of my brothers, I just have not been able to come up with 1 that I really wanted. He is not getting any younger and I fear that If I dont get off the "pot" I will be left in the cold of having a trully memorable rifle built by him.

There rifles are all built from 98 Mauser actions, but that is the only thing in common they have, I personally am trying to think off the wall. So I havent decided what to do for an action yet. (defintly open to suggestions).

What I would like to be able to acheive is 1 rifle, that will work for Hunting Whitetails in the midwest, aswell as Elk out west. Of course I would also like it to be accurate at long ranges (1k). Although I do understand that I am NOT ready for taking those long yardage shots I want the capabilities. I also understand that it will take alot of trigger time to acheive the ability to do so.

The midwest hunting I do, has realistic shots from 50-500 yards in the hills, and as far as 1800 yards in the Missouri river bottoms. Now will I ever be able to make those shots?? If I work hard at it maybe 1 day I can. Never the less I do NOT consider it a waste of time or money to try and fail, after all I will still have a Rifle built for me from my father that can and will be cherrished for my lifetime.

Sorry for the rambling, now for the questions lol.

1.) Is it possable for me to have 1 rifle that will work for Hunting Whitetails, and Elk, from 50 yards to 1000 yards?