What to do with 280 Rem mountain rifle

micmac

Greetings first post in this well informed forum.

I have a Remington 700 mountain rifle in 280 REM. I've owned this rifle since new in 1991. My college grad gift to myself. Needless to say this rifle has always had less than spectacular accuracy and I've never felt comfortable taking shots over 150 yrds.
However, It's served me fine as an east coast whitetail rifle.

It's no longer my primary gun so I was thinking about trying to turn it into something a bit more accurate and useful. I'm nostalgic about the gun so I won't abandon it so looking for some ideas to make it more accurate but still in the vein of a mountain rifle.

All recommendations welcome for manufacturers etc. I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to any gun customization so any ideas welcome. The gun is completely stock BTW. Thanks

What about bedding and floating the barrel? I've read these thin barrels don't do well free floating them.

Was thinking barrel swap getting rid of the 22" pencil barrel. Maybe turning it into a 280 AI (what would this entail)?

New stock

New trigger system

Also what about truing the receiver?

Or should I just put it back in the safe and retire it?

Last edited:
Greetings first post in this well informed forum.

I have a Remington 700 mountain rifle in 280 REM. I've owned this rifle since new in 1991. My college grad gift to myself. Needless to say this rifle has always had less than spectacular accuracy and I've never felt comfortable taking shots over 150 yrds.
However, It's served me fine as an east coast white tail rifle.

It's no longer my primary gun so I was thinking about trying to turn it into something a bit more accurate and useful. I'm nostalgic about the gun so I won't abandon it so looking for some ideas to make it more accurate but still in the vein of a mountain rifle.