what kind of action???

Slaysesh

i want to build a 6.5X284. this is where i need to start so remington 700, sako or custom??? whats the best value for my money?

Rem 700LA trued and blue printed would be my vote or your could drop another 3-400 on a surgeon action... integral 20moa base and recoil lug definatly my second choice. from a value stand point

So in the long run the 700 will be just as good as any custom and a few hundered dollaers cheaper? Also what should i pay for a standard 700 action, not trued or blueprinted?

Thanks for all the responses but I'm new to this stuff! What should a guy pay for just a Remington 700 action? Not trued or anything?

i want to build a 6.5X284. this is where i need to start so remington 700, sako or custom??? whats the best value for my money?
I would go with a Howa/Vanguard action. You can get them for less and IMO, they are a better action for the following reasons.

Single piece ported bolt
Sako style extractor
Integral recoil lug
Flat bottom receiver
Easy tune trigger

I have both Vanguards and 700's and prefer the Vanguards. Doing builds on both currently. I have also tuned triggers for both and was able to tune my Vanguard triggers in less than 5 min to a crisp 1 1/2 lbs while it took 30 min or more to tune the old style 700 triggers down to only 2 1/2 lbs.

If you upgrade to a Timney trigger you can get a 3 position for the Howa/Vanguard, but in order to get a 3 position for the 700 you must replace the bolt shroud for about $125.

Also, the Vanguard long action is about 1/4" shorter than the 700 so a little more compact which fits the 6.5x284 cartridge a little better.

Not all smiths work on Howas because they are metric threads. Both of my smiths convert the metric to standard when they do the rebarrel.

Hope that helps.

Do your self a favor and go with Defiance, Borden or Stiller. If you are getting a custom stock, barrel, and trigger why settle for a M700???

Re-sale value is better too.