What am I missing??

Halleywood

I have no experience with ballistics programs, but I have been playing around with the G7 ballistics program and my STW info. I shot at 100 yards, then at 300 yards to get my drop and back into my velocity. My Dad has the chronograph so I can't read these loads. Well when I put in my zero at 100 and a 9 inch drop at 300 I'm getting 3043 velocity. Great! Well my 100 yard group was 1.5" high at 100 and my 300 yard group was 9" below that. So I was playing with the zero adjustment 1.5" high and -7.5" at 300. From that it gave me 2787 velocity!! My simple mind thinks that the bullet drop is 9" whether I have the zero at 100 or 1.5" high at 100. Why would it give me such a large discrepancy and what am I missing???? I wish I had the chronograph so I could just know my velocity.

The change in zero will magnify with range as you go out. a 1" difference at 100 is 3" at 300. You also need to take into account the scope to bore height; are you certain you are perfectly correct on that one?
How close are your ranges to the real distance? some ranges are a bit long or short and that will mess with your chi also.
I'd step a bit further out now for more accurate drops now that you know where you are at shorter range. I'd also wonder if your bullet's bc is correct.

Thanks for the reply John. I wouldn't say I'm 100% positive on the scope height. I'm close though. I actually thought about actual range after I was home from the range but no I didn't verify ranges. Unfortunately I don't have a place to shoot further until I get out to my parents place. Then I will have the chronograph and space to shoot as far as I am able. The bullets I'm running are 180 grain berger VLD. I haven't read anywhere that the bc values aren't accurate like on nosler.

I must be wrong in my thinking that my drop will be 9" no matter what my zero is at 100? Obviously this is my first attempt at ballistics programs!!