Was sure I had built a winner, but...

rsbhunter

Put together a Savage LA 6.5x284 with a Krieger 26" bbl, chambered by Krieger,1-8.5 twist , salt bath nitrided, bell and Carlson bedded stock (tang free floated) with decent 5-30 Frontier scope. Trigger about 2 lbs. For the load work up I've tried H4831sc , H4350, Win 760 , Retumbo ,RL 17. Bullets, Berger 140vld hunting, Berger 140 elite, Nosler 140 Cust Comps, 100 gr Barnes ttsx , and nosler 100gr ballistic tips. And loads ladder tested. Didn't do but 3 shot groups @100 , but still best accuracy is about 1 moa. I have even removed and re head spaced bbl. I have built other Savages that shoot 1/4 moa, and keep accuracy out to 500+ yds....(not that I am a great builder, but I know the procedure) I guess I'm looking to see if anyone has had a high quality barrel that they just couldn't get to shoot? I know that some will say try 120's or 130's or etc....but with the life expectancy of the cartridge, don't know if I want to keep chasing a ghost. Might just go new cartridge to ?????

I wouldn't switch cartridges, 6.5x284 is capable of excellent accuracy. I would continue to eliminate other factors such as the action screws torque, potentially loose scope ring or base screws and try a different scope.

If everything checks out ok , I'd say you may have a bum barrel. Poor shooting barrels from the top manufacturers are very rare but it happens.

I had a buddy that went through a very similar situation. After eliminating EVERY other option. He sent the barrel back. New barrel on and BOOM! 1/4 MOA groups

After checking optics and everything WeiserBucks suggested, I'd give Krieger a call and let them know what you've tried. They will either have some suggestions or tell you to send it to them. They don't get that type of reputation from not taking care of their customers. They want it to shoot too.