Want some input on baiting

Tikkamike

I am starting from scratch basically here. I aquired an allegedly good bait site this morning so I want to hear what works for you guys from what to look for in selecting a place for the barrel and how to set the barrel up. along with baits and attractants. I have a brand new heavy duty plastic 55 gallon drum. I plan on filling it with dog food, grain, old donuts, and break and as much sweet stuff as I can find. I know some people pour vanilla or maple frosting in their baid and use for scent sticks. Mainly I am wondering the best way to position a barrel and cut it so that your bait lasts as long as possible before refills but still keeps the bears interest. Any advice is welcomed.

I have heard Bacon grease works well on a tree stump. But I am far from an expert. It is not legal here or I would be a Master Baiter. :D

Jeff

My family owned a restaurant a few many years ago and we would store the old deep fry grease in 55 gallon drums until a guy would come empty them. One night my dad was taking some boxes out to the dumpster when he saw a 400+ bear taking the lid off one of the drums. The bear paid him no attention as he was lathering himself in the grease and lapping it up. The bear was a frequent customer to the restaurant! It was like crack for bears. If you have a friend who as a restaurant, try to get ahold of their old grease.

I get old doughnuts and bread from thrift stores. They love doughnuts or anything sweet for that matter. It works good to pour syrup or bacon grease on the bread. You can buy gallons of syrup fairly reasonable. Years ago we actually used dog food and syrup.

I use a metal barrel. They can wreak havoc on plastic if they are a big bear and you get to clean it up afterwards.