Tikka vs R700

Granted, many here spend more time hunting than myself...I only average 2 shots/year hunting with a rifle without hearing protection. I guess I'm lucky, but I'm 60 and hear just fine. Certainly Adrenaline provides no hearing or recoil protection, but for those 2 shots per year on a deer or elk with a light 30-06 or 300wm, I've never noticed the recoil.

Hello all another question....what ammo would you all suggest I start with. I currently have Winchester power-point 150gr. It's all the store had. I'm pretty much learning my gun and can't handload yet. Obviously looking to deer hunt with it and I can shoot anywhere from 50yrds out to 600 yrds. I'm still learning all of the different language for ammo. B.C. G1 etc.... need something that will do the best job until I can learn to handload.

I would try some of the new Hornady Precision Hunter stuff. It won't break the bank and may shoot well.
https://www.midwayusa.com/product/1...mm-remington-magnum-162-grain-eld-x-box-of-20

I have had good luck with Federal Fusion ammo in the past also. Again relatively inexpensive ammo for the accuracy potential:https://www.midwayusa.com/product/8...-magnum-150-grain-spitzer-boat-tail-box-of-20

Federal Premium 165 Sierra Game Kings also shot good in my 7mm:https://www.midwayusa.com/product/7...165-grain-sierra-gameking-boat-tail-box-of-20

Finding the ammo your rifle likes is usually a kinda hit and miss thing. I would stay away for cheap ammo and the real expensive more custom stuff like the Nosler and HSM with VLD bullets until you find a more midrange price/performance combo that works. Also try to stay in the 140 Gr. to 168 Gr. bullet weights. They may well be more accurate. The heavier bullets may open up your groups some. Try some of them after you have a good baseline with a medium weight bullet.

I really may spend too much time reading....