The 6.5 Something NOW Has A Name!

GLTaylor

6.5 BLASER MAGNUM IMPROVED!

Got a drawing from JGS yesterday. Parent cartridge is a 7mm Blaser Magnum necked down to 6.5mm with 40 degree shoulder. The drawing is a PDF file so I can't manipulate it, copy or share it. Wish I could! Case capacity should be about 76+ grains. It's basically a 257 Wby Mag minus the belt and no radiused shoulders.

I've got some questions, cause I've never done this before. I'm mainly interested in how much free bore/throat to specify. I plan to shoot Hammers in a 1:7.5 twist barrel, but want to be able to shoot both Hammer Hunters and Absolute Hammers. I' guessing the throat will need to be upwards of 150 thousandths, as that's where my 338 Sherman ended up, but I really have no idea.
Also, what about body taper? How much to specify, and why?

OK you gunsmiths and gurus out there. Give me a hand with birthing this new baby!

Thanks

Quote Reply
Report Edit

^^^
This.
You want to get neck diameter and desired freebore/leade angle, etc. all correct in the reamer geometry instead of monkeying with throaters and neck reamers later. This way you know the chamber will be exactly what you want.

I finally figured out how to attach the cartridge drawing.
All of the Ackley Improved cartridges I have use very little case taper. If I am reading this drawing right, it has quite a bit of taper?
How much taper is appropriate and how much throat is "normal" for 120-140gr mono bullets of a VLD style?

Attachments

• 6.5BM Imp.jpg
    6.5BM Imp.jpg
    932.3 KB · Views: 336
I'm waiting to hear an answer to this myself. I don't shoot that bullet so I wouldn't be able to even guess.