Sorting Brass

Triggerhead Ed

I have purchased new norma brass for my 300 rum
I sized and weighed 20 rounds
11 weighed 289.5 grains +_ .25 grain
8 weighed 288.0 +_.25 grain
1 weighed 291grains (will use for fouling shots )
This is my first time to sort brass.
How close to the same weight
should each round be?
Thank you for your help

Last edited:
I shoot mostly Lapua brass. Have weighed them, and few exceed half a gr. difference. I do not sort/weigh brass for hunting, only for competition

I buy 100 win or rem brass in 243 win. Heavy to light is about 3 grs. difference.

I do benchrest prep of the brass. Then sort into lots of 3/10 gr.

Did a test, took 5 heavy and 5 light. Shot a group with each.

Then reloaded same load. Fired 3 heavy/2 light for group. Then 3 light and 2 heavy for a group.

The Rem 40x with 36 power scope showed a noticeable difference in group sizes . Smallest groups were with 3/10 gr lots of brass.

Fl sizing bushing die used in test, sizing 1/2 of the neck. Necks turned, flash hole uniformed, trimmed, before sorting.

I buy 100 win or rem brass in 243 win. Heavy to light is about 3 grs. difference.

I do benchrest prep of the brass. Then sort into lots of 3/10 gr.

Did a test, took 5 heavy and 5 light. Shot a group with each.

Then reloaded same load. Fired 3 heavy/2 light for group. Then 3 light and 2 heavy for a group.

The Rem 40x with 36 power scope showed a noticeable difference in group sizes . Smallest groups were with 3/10 gr lots of brass.

Fl sizing bushing die used in test, sizing 1/2 of the neck. Necks turned, flash hole uniformed, trimmed, before sorting.

I don't shoot bench rest, But was trained by one and he did the same.
He totally prepped all of his new brass by full length sizing, trimming to length, turning the necks and de burring them and prepping the flash holes. This was to get as much dimensional consistency as possible.