Scope failed tall target test....🤬

DocGlenn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
106
Location
North Georgia
So I have a Leupold VX6 on my CA 6.5 PRC. Rifle shoots really well, I’ve got a load worked up that is consistent and I’m feeling good about this fall until the tall target test. When I dial up, I get a 1.5-2” shift to the right. I ran the test 4 times. Made sure the target was plumb with a level, used levels to mount the scope, and even tried rotating the scope counter clockwise (since the shift was to the right). Nothing has worked. No matter what I try, when I dial up, I get a POI shift to the right. I know there are a lot of things that can cause this. I’m using Talley one piece rings for the mount. I’ve remounted the scope twice. I’ve got a NF I’m going to put on it to see if it is the scope or the mounts, or the receiver. Anyone have any other suggestions? Would a bore sighting tool show the discrepancy?? I got the scope from Holland’s with his reticle in it. I’m going to call them on Monday to see what they have to say. Is it possible I just have a bad scope?? Thanks.
Glenn
 

DocGlenn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
106
Location
North Georgia
Sorry, can’t figure out how to rotate it. What is strange, is the shift to the right happens with any significant increase in elevation. Makes no sense to me???
 

LaHunter

Well-Known Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
502
Location
N.E. Louisiana
The levels used to mount scopes really aren't super precise. Mounting your scope with a plumb line and lining your reticle vertical axis with the plumb line ensures your scope is true to gravity. A scope mounted with a cante or canting your rifle while shooting can show up as windage. If your tall target vertical is truly vertical with gravity and you kept your reticle vertical axis aligned properly with your tall target test, then you may have a scope issue.
 

DocGlenn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
106
Location
North Georgia
The levels used to mount scopes really aren't super precise. Mounting your scope with a plumb line and lining your reticle vertical axis with the plumb line ensures your scope is true to gravity. A scope mounted with a cante or canting your rifle while shooting can show up as windage. If your tall target vertical is truly vertical with gravity and you kept your reticle vertical axis aligned properly with your tall target test, then you may have a scope issue.
The targets were plumb and I tried my very best to keep the vertical cross hair in line with the target (I have a level on the scope that showed level when the target lined up with the reticle). It’s a weird deal. I think it is the scope. Just looking for some other expertise. I’m not an expert by any means. Thanks!
 

L.Sherm

Well-Known Member
LRH Team Member
Joined
Jul 26, 2017
Messages
2,776
Are you sure your scope is mounted stress free, by that I mean more often than not when you put a rail on 700 actions and srew one end down the other end has a gap on the other end meaning no way can it not have a banana shape when tightened down.
I know your using Talleys which if I remember correctly are 2 piece which means the same principal when you torque the scope down. I'm not saying it's your problem but it's something to look at and eliminate it's why anymore I dont care if there NF or spuhr mounts it can very well be the actions mounting points I bed the rings and rail if needed which is atleast 75% of the time
 

DocGlenn

Well-Known Member
Joined
Nov 23, 2005
Messages
106
Location
North Georgia
Are you sure your scope is mounted stress free, by that I mean more often than not when you put a rail on 700 actions and srew one end down the other end has a gap on the other end meaning no way can it not have a banana shape when tightened down.
I know your using Talleys which if I remember correctly are 2 piece which means the same principal when you torque the scope down. I'm not saying it's your problem but it's something to look at and eliminate it's why anymore I dont care if there NF or spuhr mounts it can very well be the actions mounting points I bed the rings and rail if needed which is atleast 75% of the time
The Talleys are one piece. Used a torque wrench to mount them. I did not bed them. The mounting holes could be off I guess??
 

MS660Magnum

Active Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
California
I had to create a profile so that I could tag onto this.

How did you level your scope when you mounted it?

Here’s why ask: I have a VX-6HD 3-18x44, and I mounted it by placing a bubble level on top (Wheeler Pro mounting kit), and leveling the TURRET, as opposed to using a plumb line and leveling the RETICLE. I was quickly miffed, however, when I found out the flashy level didn’t work. Further investigation revealed that plumb on the reticle vs the turret/body of the scope was about 3-4° different. If I level the reticle the illuminated flasher stops, but the scope’s canted. If I level the scope tube, the reticle is canted. My scope passes a 35moa tall target test with flying colors, indicating that it’s the TURRET and erectors that need to be plumb, at least if you’re dialing the shot. The reticle in mine is just canted, meaning that the fancy flashing level is useless since it’s aligned with the crooked reticle.

For what it’s worth, I complained and sent it back to Leupold. The held onto it for a few months, and then sent it back untouched and without comment. I guess 3-4° is good enough for them, tall-target be damned.

Still like the scope though; image quality is fantastic, and I’ve fired my .308win to 1200yds with it. I was just disappointed in their “top of the line” effort and their customer service.
 

MS660Magnum

Active Member
Joined
Jun 20, 2020
Messages
33
Location
California
Just saw that you said you used levels to mount.

All I’m thinking is that if your scope had the same discrepancy between the tube body and reticle that mine has, it may be the source of your problem. If I’d leveled mine to the reticle, I’d almost certainly have a right shift when I dialed the turret up.
 
Top