savage lrp or vlp 243

dan024

greeting im new to the site, but am always on here reading and gathering valuable information. im going to order a new gun today or tomorrow for coyote and some paper punching. im new to long range hunting but have hunted and shot my whole life question is id like a gun suited to long range shooting that i can practice and learn with before i build a custom rig. mainly 700 to 1000 yrds target and coyote out to 600 or a little more till i feel comfortable with hunting out farther. have been reading alot about the savage model 12 lrp and the vlp in 243 win. i love the 243 caliber and also have everything to do my own loads is the barrel that comes factory on the lrp good for what im wanting ?will it stabilize 107gr or is that pushing the limits i know to shoot 115gr i will need a 1/8 twist. i have read on here some earlier thread that guys have bought the vlp and had a 1/8 put on it. but there was no follow up on how it performed i know the vlp is cheaper priced that the lrp but if i need to change the barrel for my needs would the vlp be good as the lrp after the barrel is changed. any information would be great id like to know that what im buying will do what i need it to do providing i do my part

Watch some of "curtisclayne" youtube videos on his LRP 6.5 Creedmoore. Its very exciting to watch him hammer out to 1000 with that. Some day soon I will have it myself.

Edit: just noticed he's a member on this board with a few posts below.

i like the 6.5 as well its just that i feel comfortable with the 243 as in loading and also have three other rifles in the 243 caliber i have read alot on the ballistics and studied charts on the 243 and from what ive seen its a capable rig. i would like to stay with 243 but if it cant do what im needing i guess i can change it up.