what caliber? .243 win or 250 savage?

sh13lds21

so im wanting to get a new gun for coyote/blacktail hunting and was wondering which one would be better? and what guns should i look at? im looking to shoot out to 800 yards or so on coyote and about 300 to 400 or more on deer.

I'm pretty new to the long range shooting and this forum so what would be some good threads i could read or any websites i should look at?

Thank You
Ryan

.25-06 would get you some more gas, but of the two, I'd say .243.....More common and great BC bullets are now available. As far as what to get, I'd get either remington 700, Howa 1500/Vanguard SII, or a Savage. Any of those are cheap with tons of aftermarket support for later. If you want a really great action(smooth) with a really great trigger(crispy like a cracker) Tikka t3. All of these will fit your need nicely. Handle some and see what you like.
Nimrod

I'd say take a look at the 6.5's/260's. Better overall ballistics, and some incredibly high BC bullets that will beat anything in either the .243 or .257's that are available.

For predator type hunting An AR Platform similar to mine would be ideal.

As far as bolt guns go, you can have one built, check the classified ads here and over at sniper's hide and find some very nice deals.

Of course if you just want to go with a factory rig I'm a big fan of the Remingtons because with very little work most of them can be turned into real shooters.

It all depends on your budget and personal preferences.

The target below was shot with 130gr Scirocco II's at 300yds from the back of my truck using the tail gate for a bench and a bucket for a chair.

Attachments

• AR260300yds.jpg
    AR260300yds.jpg
    42.4 KB · Views: 241
  • AR260.jpg
    AR260.jpg
    187.3 KB · Views: 189