Reloading my .300 Win Mag

efornyMT

Hi there all. I am just getting into the art of reloading and am looking for some advice. I have the Hornady Lock and Load kit and have loaded a little but am having a hard time determining if I am seating the bullet to the correct depth... at least to start. I know that there will be some tweaking in the future and changing this or that; but does anyone have any good ways to make sure my die it set up to the proper depth etc? Do I need a caliper to measure the over all length and match to the C.O.L? Like I said before, I am brand new to this and am looking for any advice I can get! Thanks for your time! gun)

Yeah, stop everything and get a caliper. Adjust your bullet seating die till the cartridge overall length is 3.340" (which is the industry standard maximum).

Just start with that. When you learn a bit more about how to measure your rifles chamber, then you can start tweaking it.

Make sure you read up on what you are doing. You should have the Hornady manual that came with the kit. If not, get a manual.

Try these:

Attachments

• modcase.jpg
    modcase.jpg
    8.7 KB · Views: 108
  • caliperJIG.jpg
    caliperJIG.jpg
    5.6 KB · Views: 95
Hi there all. I am just getting into the art of reloading and am looking for some advice. I have the Hornady Lock and Load kit and have loaded a little but am having a hard time determining if I am seating the bullet to the correct depth... at least to start. I know that there will be some tweaking in the future and changing this or that; but does anyone have any good ways to make sure my die it set up to the proper depth etc? Do I need a caliper to measure the over all length and match to the C.O.L? Like I said before, I am brand new to this and am looking for any advice I can get! Thanks for your time! gun)