Quick muzzle brake question

Discussion in 'Long Range Hunting & Shooting' started by Iamnotagolem, Mar 12, 2019.


Help Support Long Range Hunting by donating:


  1. dfanonymous

    dfanonymous Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    531
    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2016
    Like some said, different muzzle devices can change barrel harmonics. This is true with suppressors too. For bigger bore rifles, like 400 and 50s you can get a pull off effect from the break if the gun isn’t recoiling straight back, small detail I suppose but for the purpose of the question.
     
  2. stirner

    stirner Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    74
    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    First day of live fire while qualifying with the M-14, I couldn't hit squat. I went to the range gunsmith, and he immediately looked at the flash suppressor, and showed me the problem. You could see the copper deposits from the bullets on one side of the suppressor. Once he straightened it, there was no more problem.
     
  3. Greyfox

    Greyfox Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    4,700
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    I have experienced excess carbon build up in the brake with my competition rifles cause a change in accuracy. I usually soak, then brush them with a carbon/copper solvent every few hundred rounds.
     
  4. Iamnotagolem

    Iamnotagolem Member

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Good to know. Maybe I could get some more use out of my ultrasonic cleaner. :)
     
  5. Gerard Schultz

    Gerard Schultz Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    140
    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Every time you clean the rifle, it pays to take the brake off and clean the muzzle and the first couple of threads thoroughly. The muzzle will carbon up, the same as the inside of the brake but, as Greyfox says, it is only required that you clean the brake every couple of 100 rounds or so. Carbon on the muzzle of the barrel can build up or split off unevenly and destroy accuracy.
     
  6. alcesgigas

    alcesgigas Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    358
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2011
    Did I miss something? If you haven't the rifle yet you can't develop any loads for it--other than on paper. If this is indeed the case I'd suggest waiting to get the rifle and work up loads in it the way you intend to use it especially if that use is hunting.
     
  7. Iamnotagolem

    Iamnotagolem Member

    Messages:
    7
    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Just trying to do a little learning before the time comes. I'm one of those people who like to research as much about my hobbies as humanly possible. If I can't be out shooting/hunting, I'm going to be reading about shooting/hunting. :)
     
    alcesgigas likes this.