Powder selection

wessman1

Just wanna pick your brains abit,what thoughts go into making your decision about powder selection for a particular caliber you may be loading for.I sometimes find myself scouring load books and online resources for a powder,and it may take me a week or two to come up with a powder to start with,especially on a new caliber I haven't loaded before.I've been loading for 25 years and sometimes that's the hardest decision to make.give me your thoughts thanks

Generally, I look for what the majority of people are already using. Although a lot of cartridges are fairly similar, and what works for one usually is a good indicator of what will work in another similar cartridge.

I also look to see what I will use the rifle for. All of mine are hunting rifles, and some pull double duty as long range steel bangers. So, for me, temp stability is vital. Meaning most of my rifles use one of the Hodgdon Extreme powders. Although, Alliant has come out with some powders that are far more stable than their old ones, like RL23 vs. RL22, RL26 vs. RL25, etc. and you can get better speeds with a lot of them.

I will normally go to the bullet manafacture's loading manual of the bullet I chose and choose the powder that get's me the best velocity,if that is what you are after, and start with their lowest load and work up to the vel and accuracy I'm looking for.Most manuals will list several good powders for your chosen bullet. On line, as previously mentioned, is also a good place to see what other shooters are using.

me, I use a Prowley slide rule to find the burn rate powder for a new gun. Unfortunetly it is an OOOLLD version wich only lists IMR powders but, from all given powders on the scale I can then goto a burn rate chart to find a close if not identical burn rate powder

Not to hi-jack but I have a related side question.