Ordered a New Barrel now what?

xFREDRICKx

Hi all,

I ordered a new barrel from McGowen. I also have a new oversized recoil lug with a new HS Precision stock. I am keeping the same chambering that my remington 700 had and wanted to know what the next step is. They are crowning it, threading it for my action an chambering it to fit the 7mm rem mag. Once i receive this barrel i was wondering if all i have to do is take it to a gunsmith to put it on the action (i don't have the tools needed for it)? What is the deal with the go/no go gauges? I am new to many of this. i just thought that i could receive the barrel and put it on and go shoot. I have also seen people with barrel nuts on their remington's. i thought that was a savage thing. Do i need once for my new rifle?

thanks in advance.

I just went to McGowen's website. I see they offer a barrel that can be setup with a Savage style nut so you can headspace the chamber on the rifle.

If you ordered this style barrel you should be able to install and headspace it yourself if you have the go and no go gauges AND YOU UNDERSTAND THE PROCESS. If you are going to do it you need to understand what the use of the go gauges and no go gauges are for!!!!!

In addition to these steps you will have to align the recoil lug so it would fit into the recess in the stock.

You will have to alter the stock to fit the barrel nut and the larger recoil lug. If this is type of work is foreign to you, you had best take the rifle to a gunsmith for proper headspacing and fitting the barreled action into the stock.

--------------------------------------------------------------------

Some information that you could find on the net with some digging. Here is a brief description that I hope will help;