New to Long Range

comets113

Hello everyone I am new here and I am just getting into long range hunting and going to invest in a basic gun. I am not looking for anything fancy or super expensive. Just looking for something basic that I can learn from and goal with the gun is to be able to hit a target at 500yards. I am looking at either a mossberg patriot or a remmington 700 ADL in .308. I would like to hear any results and opinions on these two guns. thank you.

Welcome,

I don't know anything about the Mossberg. Remington would be a decent gun for you. I would suggest you consider the Remington SPS in .308 if it fits your price range. My real suggestion is to look at a Savage with an accutrigger. The accutrigger is very nice for an entry level rifle and Savages are noted for being accurate out of the box. The scope you chose is the workhorse for long range shooting.

The Mossberg rifles are very Savage-like in construction, using a barrel nut system and having their own version of the Accutrigger (called the LBA). I have an MVP in 5.56 NATO that is very accurate. I have shot it in a couple of 500 yard club matches and drawn favorable comments from guys alongside me shooting custom rifles.

I have no direct experience with the Patriot model, so I cannot say for sure if my experience with the MVP can be expected with the Patriot. Regardless, one disadvantage relative to comparable Savage rifles is the current lack of aftermarket support for the Mossbergs. If the plan is to upgrade your rifle over time, the Savage is probably a better choice.

I bought my MVP expressly because of the combination of features offered for the money, rather than as a base gun for a build.

you do not say where you are . if you reload. what you are shooting at. weight helps . I would get a rem 700 long range in 30-06 . mine is great . if I was to get a 308 I would get varmint model 700