New to Long Range

rhill494

Hey everyone, I'm new to the whole long range game and I'm looking for some advice. Just a couple weeks ago I picked up a new Savage model 11 in .308 with the Nikon bdc scope for a heck of a deal. I already know that I want a different scope for this gun, but I figured in the mean time I could use it to get a feel for the gun, also so I can get some reloads going and see what my gun likes.

I picked up some of the Norma tac-308 bullets just so I could throw some lead out, and get some decent brass piled up; even with these rounds I can cover a 3 shot group at a 100 yds with a quarter.

I guess what I'm trying to get at is that I really don't want to throw a whole pile of money at this gun, since I'm using it as a beginning gun to learn shooting farther without wiping out my wallet.

Anything you guys can suggest to me as far as a middle of the road scope, loads, or basic upgrades for my rifle to get me going?

Thanks

Welcome to the site!

I'm sure you will get a bunch of different responses and ideas. Here is my thought:

Your gun is shooting good. No sense messing with it (yet). Once you learn what you do and don't like when shooting LR you can start making changes.

On to your scope. I am a little torn here, so I'll put two options out there:

#1. Grab a spotter and go see how far out you can make MOA hits with your set-up exactly as-is. Use the BDC to the best of your ability. Determine if you want more mag, prefer dialing over holdover, if you might use variable power and would get value out of a FFP scope, etc. Basically, see how far out you can get on targets and see where and how you begin to fail, and let this lead into your decision on a scope (and a quality rail and rings!)