New scale

Matt Tatum

Hello all,
My son was throwing the basketball the other day and accidentally smashed my reloading scale. I have been running a RCBS 5-0-2 for 20 years or better so I haven’t kept up with the new technology.

So..... I need a new scale. I have been searching for reviews but really can’t make heads or tails of it. I prefer the beam type, but I’m open to any recommendations.
Thanks in advance.

ShtrRdy

I tried a electronic scale, (low to moderate price), and became frustrated over the years with drifting and temperature sensitivity affecting zero. I'm back to a beam scale. Currently using a Redding that I bought used. (I had to send the Redding back twice to get the problems worked out of it)

I've got an old RCBS from the 70's I might be willing to sell. Its marked that it's made by Ohaus for RCBS. I dont recall the model number right off.

Matt Tatum

Thanks for all the advice. I’ve been looking at the hornady lock and load beam scale, anybody tried it?
Ill check out the Redding as well.
I just looked at the Prometheus and that would be quite a treat!

droptine

LRH Team Member
I have to vote for the RCBS chargemaster lite. Mine came in on Sunday, yesterday. It zeros it’s self every charge. Best reloading thing I ever bought in my 40 plus years of reloading. Already loaded a box of 338 win mag, 308 and 8x57 since it came in. Really easy to use and dang near fool proof best I can tell.