New rifle

imr

Hi, I am going to buy a new rifle (not custom) for target shooting. Is only for fun, I don't have too many pretensions, but I would like to buy the best option with my budget. ¿Could you order the following options from the best rifle (or the most accurate) to the worst? That would help me to choose one of them because I have heard good opinions, but I have only shot two of them.

1)Tikka T3x lite
2)Tikka T3x varmint
3)Tikka CTR
4)Sauer 100 Classic XT
5)Bergara B14
6)Bergara B14 HMR
7)Remington 700 SPS varmint
8)Remington 700 varmint SF

Thank you

I've had a Tikka CTR in 6.5 Creedmoor, and currently do have a Bergara HMR in 308. Both are excellent rifles. I prefer the stock and magazine compatability of the Bergara, but prefer the action of the Tikka. Both are very accurate. I would put those two at the top of your list. Personally, I would steer clear of a factory Remington. Very hit or miss.

I really cannot rate these, because some I have no experience with. But, I have had good luck with Tikka rifles. They have a very smooth action and are relatively accurate. If I was going to buy one of these from your list, I would go with the Tikka CTR in 6.5 Creedmoor with the 24" barrel. Good luck with your choice.

Vote for the CTR, McMillan will make you a nice stock if you don't like the factory offering, or Manners will too. I have several Tikka's and they never fail to impress on the range. Plus, you can be sure that you'll have one of the smoothest actions in your hands.